RSS Feed

Ho ho! It’s Monday!

And time for more information about me that you didn’t really want to hear! Linking up with Java on Never Growing Old, here goes!

1 Did you watch the Superbowl?

Did I watch the what? Do we have a Superbowl in the UK? I don’t know what it is? A huge, bigger-than-average, mammoth sized bowl? Is this it?

Big Bowl

Image by swanksalot via Flickr

2. What is the last book you read?

I always have at least one book on the go. I snatch minutes during the day, waiting for the kettle to boil, reading during TV advert breaks. I even used to read while I was ironing! Before I realised that life was too short for ironing, of course… I read anything except sci-fi – just can’t suspend my disbelief enough to get into the story. At the moment I’m reading Nicci Gerard’s Things We Knew Were True. It’s about first love, family secrets and grief. Just a little light reading for a Monday morning…

Things We Knew Were True

3. What is your favourite kind of cake?

Ooh! Carrot cake, chocolate cake, victoria sponge with oodles of jam and cream filling! My friend makes a delicious beetroot cake with fuchsia-pink icing. It sounds weird, but it’s gawjus!      

    

Trash Blanc: Beetroot Cake

Image via Wikipedia

 

4.Do you snore?

Umm…I don’t think so, but I do talk in my sleep. In fact we all like a good old natter during the night. Youngest son’s the worst; he breaks wind, moans, chats, burps and groans while he’s asleep. You feel this resonant fart blasting and echoing through the house, and then hear a little voice say, ‘Oops! Pardon me!’

5. Do you play a musical instrument?

Nope! Not me! Am totally tone-deaf and musically challenged. Funny, ‘cos both my boys play instruments and Eldest is at uni studying music. Maybe when I’m really old, I’ll learn to play something mellow and melodic…

Bagpipes

Image by gerry balding via Flickr

About Tiny Temper

I'm a middle-aged freelance writer living in Cornwall. And no, it's not all sun, sand and steaming pasties. I've been married, done the divorce and accidentally shrunk the tee-shirt.

14 responses »

  1. The Super Bowl is the big football (American) game of the season. Sort of like the World Cup, except it’s only between teams in the state. The Super Bowl has become a “holiday” of sorts. People dress in their favorite team colors, make copious amounts of food, drink copious amounts of alcohol and hoot and holla for their team.

    Reply
  2. That beetroot cake sounds yummy. Especially if it has fushcia icing. Gotta love your sons sleeping habits!

    Reply
    • It is gorgeous, honestly. You’d never guess it was made from beetroot.
      And, believe me, you wouldn’t love Youngest’s sleeping routine if you had to share a room with him! Eldest son throws things at him during the night just so he can get some sleep! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll hop over you as soon as I can!

      Reply
  3. that victoria cake sounds amazing I am a new follower of your blog you can find me at my blog annies home located at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • I just love any cake – the bigger, the creamier, the better!

      Thanks for following – welcome to the madhouse! I’ll come for a visit as soon as I can – make sure the kettle’s on 🙂

      Reply
  4. Sometimes I wish I was overseas so I wouldn’t have to listen to all the superbowl hype! I just know it means football season is over!! I love your blog btw!

    Reply
    • Aww, thanks, Kris *blushes*

      The Superbowl thingy seems huge – there are postings everywhere! I can sympathise – I’m not into anything sporty Drives me mad when football matches are plastered all over the TV, knocking off regular programmes. Well, that’s my rant for the day!

      Thanks for commenting!

      Reply
  5. The book sounds very upbeat. One that makes you want to slit your wrists when you are done?

    Beetroot cake is something I have never heard of. It seems whenever you post about food I learn something new. 🙂

    Reply
    • It is quite a serious one for me! I do love a good raucous comedy or sometimes, a romance, and other times something a bit more serious 🙂

      The beetroot cake was a new one for me. I thought it was a joke to be honest, but it’s real. And really yummy!

      Oh, and that’s it, Bernie; I have no more knowledge to give! 🙂

      Reply
  6. Hi,
    Just popped by the say hello, hope you have a lovely week.
    Helen x

    Reply
  7. Picture 1- LOL!!!

    I played, too! 😀 Sorry I’m late. 😦 Been a crazy week.

    Rebecca at http://freakyfrugalite.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

